“Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff”

Monday. Everyone hates Mondays. This past Monday was a particularly long day between work and classes. Discussions felt drawn out and it seemed that the class would never end. Once I finally got home all I wanted to do was lay down and take a nap (my usual routine after class). But I came home to find a dishwasher COMPLETELY full of dirty dishes that no one had thought to start and the trash was piled up over flowing from the trash can. It felt like this mess accumulated over night. But to make it more frustrating, my one box of cereal that was sitting on the counter was shoved onto my already full shelf in the pantry. All I could think was “Seriously? My one box of cereal was what needed to be fixed here?” To give some context for this situation, I live with three other girls in a four bedroom apartment. Two of which are a little on the wild side while the other is a bit of a control freak.  All in all, I couldn’t believe what a mess the house was and it was only Monday. I was completely fed up with the situation and had to call my mom to rant. She reminded me of one simple phrase, “don’t sweat the small stuff.”

All of my life there have been two life lessons that my mother has constantly tried to instill in me and those are “don’t sweat the small stuff” and “work smarter, not harder.” While in junior high and high school (the unmentionable teenage years),  I hated when she would repeat this over and over. I’d role my eyes and wish I could just get some sympathy about whatever melodramatic thing was occurring that day. I never could have fathomed that my mother was actually right about something… Oh how wrong I was.

By her reminding me of that, I was able to change my outlook on the situation. I keep my side of the street clean (another “momism” that was big while I was growing up) and know that I can’t do anything about what other people are doing. Why worry and put yourself in a bad mood over little things that really mean nothing? So what that the dishwasher was full? I started it and went about my day without thinking of it again. Not letting little things get to you in every day life will allow a more positive mindset and allow you to free up some of your time and thought for something bigger and better than a bunch of dirty dishes.

Leave a Reply

